Organizing Committee:

Alex Brown (chair)

Jonathan Engel

Wick Haxton

Michael Ramsey-Musolf

Michael Romalis

Guy Savard

Program Coordinator:
Laura Lee

* Application form

* Agenda

* Talks online

Previous workshops:
First Argonne/MSU/JINA/INT RIA Workshop on The r-process: the astrophysical origin of the heavy elements and related Rare Isotope Acclerator Physics INT, Seattle, January 8-10, 2004

Second Argonne/MSU/JINA/INT RIA Workshop on Reaction Mechanisms for Rare Isotope Beams, Michigan State University, March 9-12, 2005

Third Argonne/MSU/INT/JINA RIA Theory Workshop, Argonne National Laboratory, April 4-7, 2006

INT Home Page

Programs & Workshops

The Fourth Argonne/INT/MSU/JINA RIA Theory Workshop on
Rare Isotopes and Fundamental Symmetries

Institute for Nuclear Theory, University of Washington
September 19 - 22, 2007

This workshop will cover topics related to the use of nuclei for extracting properties of the fundamental strong and weak interactions. Topics include:

  • Fermi beta decay
  • Electron-neutrino correlations in nuclear beta decay
  • Coherent atomic parity violation
  • Nuclear anapole moments
  • Nuclear and nucleon electric dipole moments

    The workshop will cover reviews of recent process in theory and experiment, as well as discussion about the theoretical and experimental needs for new advances.


    Naftali Auerbach, Tel Aviv University
    John Behr, TRIUMF
    Klaus Blaum, University of Mainz
    Dmitry Budker, UC Berkeley
    Timothy Chupp, University of Michigan
    Bertrand Desplanques, Lab de Phys Subatom/Cosmology
    Jonathan Engel, University of North Carolina
    Victor Flambaum, Argonne National Laboratory
    Alejandro Garcia, University of Washington
    John Hardy, Texas A&M University
    Wick Haxton, University of Washington
    Charles Horowitz, Indiana University
    Klaus Jungmann, KVI
    Cheng-Pang Liu, Los Alamos National Laboratory
    Kei Minamisono, NSCL/MSU
    Peter Mueller, Argonne National Laboratory
    Luis Orozco, University of Maryland
    David Pinegar, University of Washington
    Ian Towner, Queen's University
    Vladimir Zelevinsky, Michigan State University

    Last revised Sept. 11, 2007 - webmaster