line decor
line decor
The Council of the American Physical Society voted on March 31, 2012 to establish the Herman Feshbach Prize for theoretical nuclear physics.

The prize would be called

Herman Feshbach Prize in Nuclear Physics

To recognize and encourage outstanding research in theoretical nuclear physics. The prize would consist of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. It will be presented biannually or annually.

Nominations would be open to physicists whose work in nuclear physics is primarily theoretical. There are no time limitations on the work described in the citation. The prize shall be awarded to one person, or may be shared by up to and including three persons when all the recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. Nominations would be active for two award cycles.

Herman Feshbach was a dominant force in Nuclear Physics for many years. He co-authored two seminal textbooks, Methods of Theoretical Physics with Phillip M. Morse and Theoretical Nuclear Physics with Amos deShalit. He provided the theoretical basis of nuclear reaction theory with his papers on the "Unified Theory of Nuclear Reactions" and was the originator of the Feshbach resonance which is used to control the interaction between atoms in ultracold quantum gases. He contributed significantly to the statistical description of nuclear states and reactions. Herman was head of the MIT physics department, mentor of many well-known physicists, a member of the National Academy, winner of the Bonner prize, and head of the Nuclear Science Advisory Committee. He was president of the American Physical Society (APS) and of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Herman helped to create the MIT Center for Theoretical Physics and served as its head. Herman worked to open communications between western and Soviet scientists during the height of the Cold War and was a champion of equal opportunity at MIT and around the world.

The ability to award the prize, and the date of the first award depends on contributions from individuals and institutions. Please contribute
on-line through the APS website

Look for Support (mid right). Click on APS member or non-member. Non-members will then see a list of causes, including prizes & awards. Members will reach a login page, and (after login) see the list of causes, including prizes & awards.

You may also contribute by sending a check, made out to the American Physical Society noting the purpose: Feshbach Prize fund, to:

Darlene Logan
Director of Development
American Physical Society
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD 20740-3844


If you have any questions, please contact Jerry (G. A.) Miller,