2000 Nuclear Physics Summer School

UC Santa Cruz

Thirteenth Summer School in Nuclear Physics

Bar Harbor, Maine
June 12 - June 22, 2001


The school is intended for advanced graduate students and beginning postdoctoral researchers in theory or experiment, and will consist of several courses of introductory lectures. 

The lecturers are:

Xiangdong Ji 
U of Maryland 
Probing the Nucleon Structure in High Energy Scattering
John Wilkerson
U of Washington 
Neutrino Physics
Ubirajara van Kolck
U. of Arizona
Effective Field Theories and Nuclear Structure
Carleton DeTar
U of Utah 
Lattice QCD: From the Basics to RHIC
Barbara Jacak
SUNY Stony Brook 
Exploring the Superdense Matter at RHIC
Thomas Schaefer
SUNY Stony Brook
QCD and Matter Under Extreme Conditions


Steering Committee:

  • A. Baha Balantekin, Chair

  • Walter Henning, Past Chair

  • Bruce Barrett, NSF grant holder

  • Sam Austin

  • Betsy Beise

  • Barbara Jacek

  • Witek Nazarewicz

  • Brian Serot

In addition, there will be opportunities for selected students to speak.

Students will be lodged on the campus of the College of the Atlantic, Bar Harbor Maine, the site of this year's school. The number of students will be limited to about fifty, and some fellowship support is available. The application deadline is May 1, 2001. However, please apply as early as possible as space is limited. 

  To apply, please fill out the online application form.

Sponsored by the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy's Institute for Nuclear Theory, and the College of the Atlantic, Bar Harbor Maine Department of Physics.

Directions to the college 
Travel, local weather and other area information


 For further information, please call ( 631 ) 344-2524 or e-mail marcy@bnl.gov


Copyright 2000 Brookhaven National Laboratory ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
Last modified on November 14, 2003 02:50 PM

Web comments contact: www@bnl.gov